Conquering Hashketball

Akiko Green
4 min readJun 16, 2020
Photo by Negative Space from Pexels

As I began my journey into learning how to code to become a software engineer, I can say with all my heart of hearts that, “ Yes, you will be frustrated, and YES! You will want to throw your laptop out of a window!”. While I may be over-exaggerating a bit much, I am speaking with experience.

You are probably reading this because you are attending/ will be attending Flatiron School and you want to conquer the dreaded Hashketball lab, yet, you just can't seem to understand how to do that! Fear not, I was in your shoes about 4 weeks ago when I had no idea how to even start! In order to understand this lab, I had to ask for help from the Learn Student aids at least 5 times a day. I personally thought that was an embarrassing number of times to ask someone for help, however, to them it was extremely normal. Every question I ask was a step closer to obtaining the skills to be a better coder! So to help you on your journey to conquering this lab, I will be guiding you on the first method!

Moving forward, the best way to take on this lab was to break it into as many pieces as you possibly can! The best tool for that is and always will be “binding. pry”, it literally can“pry” open the code and takes you into a deeper look to help you debugging issues you run into. You can find out more about binding. pry here:

--

--

Akiko Green

Software Engineer, Novice Blogger, Indoor Climbing Cutie 🥰