How I deal With Escapism

Akiko Green
5 min readFeb 26, 2023

It has taken me a few months and a few sessions of therapy to understand my escapism and I am finally here to write about it.

What is Escapism?

The dictionary definition of escapism is,

noun: Escapism: the tendency to seek distraction and relief from unpleasant realities, especially by seeking entertainment or engaging in fantasy.

When I hear this word, I think about my younger self and how she used to escape through video games. My all-time favorite games were Kingdom Hearts, Pokemon, Harry Potter, or anything non-fiction with a plot. You’re probably wondering, “What could make a kid so stressed out to escape with video came?” Nothing! Video games were a way for me to stay out of trouble!

Videogames GIF | GIFER

I used to be what my mom called a “House mouse”, thanks to video games! My first ever console was the see-through Gameboy Color. My first game was Pokemon Red(I think?), with Charmander as my Pokemon of choice! I was hooked! I never wanted to play with other kids after school, I never really did my homework and I was always that kid in the corner at family events that played with her games. I couldn’t have predicted that video games…

--

--

Akiko Green

Software Engineer, Novice Blogger, Indoor Climbing Cutie 🥰