Imposter Syndrome, Can I Beat This?

Akiko Green
8 min readFeb 10, 2023
image of Among Us players

Imposter syndrome (noun): a psychological condition that is characterized by persistent doubt concerning one’s abilities or accomplishments accompanied by the fear of being exposed as a fraud despite evidence of one’s ongoing success.

A feeling we are uncomfortably familiar with in our lives. Whether at work, in hobbies, sports, or in our friendships and relationships. The feeling of self-doubt loves to sneak up on us like a lion hunting for its next dinner. However, like most feelings, this one is only temporary.

My Journey So Far

In January 2020, I decided to take a risky leap of faith and start learning how to code. I started off using Freecodecamp’s free coding resources. There I learned how to create a simple static website with HTML and CSS. I was overjoyed to see that I created a mini blog post with an embedded youtube video.

I worked day and night teaching myself HTML and CSS, along with starting Javascript for a more user-interactive experience!

--

--

Akiko Green

Software Engineer, Novice Blogger, Indoor Climbing Cutie 🥰